Please help, just bought a 3000$ dollar TV

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Please help, just bought a 3000$ dollar TV

Hi peeps. So I bought a 3000$ 4K TV (Samsung 65 inch JS9000) paired with a 7.2 channel Onkyo 646 receiver, and sweet Pioneer speakers, and I'm trying to decide if it's worth buying an android box, or go with the Roku 4.

All I want is a more convenient way to stream MKV's or whatever videos I download from the interwebs to the TV, and maybe a browser with flash support would be nice too.

I have never used a Roku before, but the 4K capabilities also seem enticing, because the little 4K content from YT or Netflix is orgasmic to watch
    .................................................. ......................

I bought a Minix X5 when it launched, and I liked rooting it, adding flash support somehow to it, installing apps, trying to figure out MXBC/Kodi, and DLNA (too lazy to figure out DLNA well), but that box is way too old to use on such expensive 65 inch TV.

.................................................. .......................
    Out of the box, I can cast MKV's/MP4's to the TV connected in the same WiFi network (very strong 50Mbps broadband connection), but many MKV's/MP4's won't play dues to either the codecs used for its video and audio channels, or even just because the subtitle format used inside the container, and not the container itself... and maybe more factors I'm too lazy to figure out.

I don't wish to transcode all of my media into acceptable formats, because that would take too long, so I'm looking for the laziest way out of that.

.................................................. ........................

Do you guys recommend the best android box right now? (which one?), or maybe use Plex with the Roku 4 (kinda don't want to pay for Plex though )
    Is it worth investing in a NAS, or figure out DLNA more with local software from my PC?

What should I do?

Thanks for any advise guys!!!

Nvidia shield