Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Review - PIPO X9

FIRST IMPRESSIONS -

I was recently asked to review the Pipo X9. It was provided to me by Gearbest.com for this purpose. Here are my thoughts on this device. Bear in mind that I am new to this category of devices. To me this device is a TV Dongle / box that tries to be a tablet. Either that or its a tablet with Identity crisis. This is marketed as a Tablet or MiniPC. This I suppose it can do with caveats. As a TV Box, its got advantages compared to other devices in that category and some downsides as well.As a tablet, it does not do well compared to the other devices in that category. But I am getting ahead of myself.

SPECIFICATIONS -

Display - 1920*1200 full HD
    CPU - Intel Atom Z3736F up to 2.16Ghz
    RAM - 2GB DDR3L
    Storage - 32GB or 64GB (Mine is 32 GB)
    OS - Windows 10 Home and Android 4.4 dual boot
    I/O ports - 1X Micro SD slot,
    4X USB Type A
    AV out
    Audio out
    RS232 optional (DB-9)
    HDMI output
    Network - Wifi 802.11b/g/n
    Bluetooth 4.0
    Power - 12V 2.4A

OVERALL IMPRESSIONS -

Being powered by Intel, usually means good things. Especially with the whole Win-tel combination dominating PC world for years. However in recent years, Intel's foray into the world of tablets has had mixed response. Those devices are great as a portable computer or Net Enabled device. However, when you consider Non-Windows tablets, the place is dominated by other SoC Manufacturers. Particularly in case of Android, there has been very little support from developer community to Intel based devices. So you are likely to see smaller collection of apps in Google Play for Intel based devices. Now, if we were to look at TV Sticks/ Mini PCs, the things go further downhill. For one, Intel has decided to exit this market. So, no wonder the response to Nexus Player based on Intel has been tapering.