u30 gt2 mh - backup before ROM flash

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

u30 gt2 mh - backup before ROM flash

hello - new to the forum - been reading a bit and learning lots...but still total noob...!
    pls forgive my very basic questions....but in need of help

i have a new u30gt2 mh (4.2.2, kernal 3.0.36+, v1.0020131128)
    is the "MH" bit important?

am very happy with it, but stock ROM does not allow multi users.
    also lots of chinese bloatware that i cant delete/uninstall

i figure i could root and edit build.prop (fw.max_users=5)?
    or install new ROM with multiusers pre installed

new to flashing... so please understand my nervousness....
    before doing anything i wanted to get a backup of current ROM so i could return it to stock state... if i messed up....
    struggling even here....
    tried using CWM recovery to do this...
    got the cwm img file for u30gt2 (http://androtab.info/clockworkmod/rockchip/rk3188/)
    renamed/copied it onto SDCARD as per instructions reboot.... nothing...
    installed CWM ROM Manager from playstore - tried backups from here... nothing (do I need root for this app to work?)
    finally flashed the above recovery img as recovery-cwm.img via RKAndroidtool v1.37 (thanks 900SS!)
    seemed to go ok.... but i cannot see a dumped img anywhere...after reboot (using ESExplorer3) ( i never got a popup or any message on reboot)

RK drivers on old xp seem good (use the RKbatchtool to check - got green connected device icon prior to the flash on RKAndroid tooll above. on flash the tablet rebooted as normal but again i cannot find any back or dumped img file.... ho hum....

i guess i am not booting into recovery or similar.... how do you do this...
    i can get into bootloader (?) OK (off, hold vol+ whilst connecting usb - seems to work and give green icon in the batchtool...)

any pointers much appreciated...