Nextbook YFG07 (2013 walmart) possible wifi fix

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Nextbook YFG07 (2013 walmart) possible wifi fix

Its been an interesting past few days learning how to dump and compile my first rom. I've been trying to fix a new Nextbook 7 premium yfg0713 from being locked out by too many password attempts. I am an android rom flashing veteran so it should be as simple as locate a stock rom, flash it in a custom recovery, and be on my way. Google brought me to this forum where I discovered shaunmt's thread http://www.freaktab.com/showthread.p...Flashable-Root which got me a usable rom and a custom recovery. Booting into the custom recovery and flashing the rom was uneventful, then I booted into android and discovered the wifi would not turn on.
    After much googling, I found this to be a huge problem all over the internet. Unfo rtunately, the Nextbook series was not terribly popular so not much effort was going into fixing this specific problem. I found that there was a wide variety of different configs being sold as the Nextbook 7 so I figured I must have flashed the wrong rom. In that same thread, I found a fresh factory rom dump that aldrich_39 was nice enough to post.
    Thus began my adventure into extracting, organizing, and signing a flashable zip. Many tools were downloaded, many system path variables were broken, and about 20 copies of the same zip file were made until I finally got a properly signed zip.
    I flashed my signed zip file, expecting to see signature errors for the millionth time. But the custom recovery got past the verification step and soon enough, I was booted into android. This time the boot logo was different and the system setup had a different order to it. But when I clicked on setup wifi, it actually started up and found the router! I dont know if anything else is broken in this rom, but the wifi is not.