Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Custom built Intel Mini PC, considering android, but have questions.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Custom built Intel Mini PC, considering android, but have questions.

Ok, so I have some experience now with android tv boxes. I've worked with a couple of different RK3188 devices, a couple of RK3288 devices(one of which I own), and Google's ADT-1(which I own). And now I have built an Intel Mini PC and am considering android as the OS.

First let me explain the setup. I was in a computer shop that sometimes has random parts laying around with no price and I found this mini itx board laying there and asked about the price. It is a D525MW (I looked up the specs before asking). It has onboard an atom d525 which is dual core plus hyper threading at 1.8ghz, has 2 laptop size DDR3 memory slots(which i had some extra 1gb sticks from a previous laptop upgrade), 2 SATA ports, graphics GMA3150, 2x ps/2 ports, serial, parallel ports, plenty of USB, air cooled(no fans), Ethernet onboard, 1 regular PCI slot, 1 mini PCI-E slot.

All said and done a pretty feature rich mini-itx board! So I asked the old man running the place and he says $10. Sounds like a great price to me because I have all the parts i need at home except a case(ram, hard drive, very small size PSU, etc).

I got it home and at first it didn't work. Turned on and got a grey screen. So i turned it off and cleared the BIOS and tried again and it worked! Only downside was only one SATA port worked. For $10 I can live with that.