Trying to root RK31T (?!?!?)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Trying to root RK31T (?!?!?)

I am a total noob, I've never rooted any of my phones or changed ROM's. Haven't had very much need for it.

Well, I recently I bought this: http://dx.com/p/rk31t-android-4-2-2-...g-black-213840

Since then I've done a bit of research and found out that Netflix does not work on 4.2.2 very well and I bought that stick just because of it. As you can see, it is a some kind of a generic stick and I have no idea where to begin. I've found couple of rooting instructions, I bet I can pull it off easily, but what roms?!

I'd like to have the Finless rom because of the XBOX controller support, but I really just need Android 4.1 to get the netflix running.

So, here are my questions:
    1. Does it matter with stock android what stick it is?
    2. Is there a way to see just how "generic" this stick is? I can pry it open and present pictures if it helps. I'm having a hard time believing the ones who are making these sticks are designing them to be very unique.
    3. Is there any finless rom I could try while in doubt?
    4. How easy it is to recover the stick to stock if something goes wrong? What should I take in to consideration?
    Thanks in advance.

Tronsmart

Now that I've looked around, this thing looks exactly like that Tronsmart stick (without the label);

China-1 Stock | Buy Tronsmart T428 Quad Core Mini PC Android 4.2 Rockchip RK3188 2G DDR3 Wifi/Bluetooth TV BOX online at unbeatable prices. ✓Free Shipping ✓Limited Time Sale ✓Local Warehouses.

Question:

Is there a way to confirm similarity?

Comment

Advancing...

I installed the RK3188 drivers in the flash mode and windows shows the device... but root tool does not find it. None of them do.

Comment

Is there a stock ROM download from the vendor for this?
        If not I would not try messing with it for now. Without a stock ROM to recover from a brick, your risking it.