This is a sticky topic.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

WARNING: Backup your IMEI Number BEFORE Flashing a Custom ROM

I've been working with MTK devices for a few months, now...and this new platform for me has been a challenge to learn. While I have heard that the MTK format is closer to the mainstream...it's a whole lot different from the Rockchip platform I've been making ROM's for for a while.

The common thing among MTK devices is...they are all pretty much smartphones...just in different sizes, with different other features.

The problem is that each device has to have an IMEI number in order to work on a cellular phone network. The number has to be unique to the device...and it is installed on the device at the factory.

To me, a major flaw in the MTK firmware is the lack of a way to retain this IMEI number when flashing firmware updates or custom ROM's. I've seen different results on different devices...but let me just make a general assumption...Don't Trust that a custom ROM flash will not delete your IMEI number...because odds are it will.

Sure, there is an app called MobileUncle for MTK devices that backs up the IMEI number...along with a bunch of other things. It's quite a handy tool. But in order to run it, the device has to be rooted.

So here's the dilemma...most people flash custom ROM's to root their device, but in order to prepare your device to flash a custom ROM you need to root the device and make some backups. This is a step I would prefer not to take, but on MTK devices it's a necessary step. You only have to do this before you flash for the very first time. Once you have the backup, you can use it to install back to your device each time you flash a ROM update.

There are plenty of apps out there for rooting. I've had pretty good luck with Root Genius. There are others, too...you can search Google and find several. Some work, and some don't. It took me weeks to find a way to root my iFive Mini 3GS.