Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

So confused - Which ROM works for NX008HI8G ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

So confused - Which ROM works for NX008HI8G ?

I am new, both to the forum and to Android, although I have some background in Linux and Windows.

I was given a Nextbook (NX008HI8G) yesterday, but the Android version is quite old, 4.1.1, so I was hoping to upgrade this.

Which ROM will work for this model? I see a lot of other model names floating around, but not the one I have. Also, is there a way of 'upgrading' to KitKat that will work for this model?

TIA
    Last edited by scibirg; 02-09-2015, 20:45.

Is Next8HI8G the same as NX008HI8G? If yes, I found the tread with TWRP recovery. So TWRP will enable me to back up my tablet.

Now, which ROM can i use to at least get it up to Android 4.2? Is that even possible? There are a few apps that will not work for me with less than 4.2 (mainly payment apps like Paypal Here etc.)
    Last edited by scibirg; 02-09-2015, 21:20. Reason: Reading and learning

Comment

Still learning...

So, the model number for the board seems to be nxm909np
      I have googled this as well as Next8hi8g and nx008hi8g without finding any kind of ROM available whatsoever. Frustration is definitely setting in.

Any help would be much appreciated.

And yes, if a tester is needed for this model, count me in. I may be new to this, but I learn pretty fast.
      Last edited by scibirg; 02-09-2015, 22:33.

Comment

Since I like talking to myself, I will continue unless someone else want to jump in...

I was able to install TWRP and backup all my data to my SD card. Of course, as soon as I did that, half my apps decided to update, so I had to make another backup.