Need Clean Shutdown - solution for all corrupted TV sticks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need Clean Shutdown - solution for all corrupted TV sticks

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...=866981&page=9 I cant seem to have stop my mk808 from corrupting and ultimately not booting without a new flash. Having done my research I have concluded that its due to unclean power offs. It can mess up your file systems and eventually youll need a reflash.

Ways to find out whether your tv stick is cleanly shutdown is by Installing 'no-frill cpu.control' from play store. underclock your cpu. tick apply on boot.

Poweroff your unit

If its been turned off dirty. You will see a message with 'unclean' shutdown on the status bar.

To get a clean shutdown you will need to kill all apps. unmount filesystem before sync-ing the shutdown command. So far there are no apps that does this. Everyone will get a corrupted tv.stick eventually.

Im not a programmer myself so i cant help with.you people. the link i have above however will have scripts which.you can.compile yourself to remove the problem.

Thank for this. I suspected i didn't have clean shutdowns, and no-frill said so too.

from no-frill:
    "Be wary of the frequencies you select! Your phone may lock or become unresponsive if it doesn't like extreme values, but -hey- better safe than sorry: even though No-frills CPU Control allows you to choose if you want to apply the settings on boot, it comes with an extra "safety valve" too! If the device doesn't shut down (or reboot) in a clean way, it will not apply the settings, avoiding those nasty boot-loops you may have had with other overclocking apps. Please keep in mind that apps like QuickBoot are as quick as they are unsafe…"

I'll look into the scripts when I have time.

Anyone knows of a safe-shutdown-app yet?

Comment

Originally posted by magnemann View Post
      Thank for this. I suspected i didn't have clean shutdowns, and no-frill said so too.