Wireless Internet## A Tribute and Salute with some history

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wireless Internet## A Tribute and Salute with some history

I have just started in the Android community Sept of last year (2012) Although I am no stranger to computers (getting started in the early 80's when programs were on cassettes) I have a diploma in computer science from 1991 when windows was 123 and excell was Lotus.

With that said I want to share something with all of you. See the link below and scroll down to the article about Clipper3.The article is from 1998.

I had to distinct pleasure of being Schooled on Wireless technology by Ransom himself, after he sold the company he created for wireless internet (it was available in Springfield for many many years before anyone like ClearWire was heard of and got started from)
    You see I married into his Family, my wife being his niece.
    His love of HAM radio brought him into this area of his life. I salute you Ransom Southerland. (Vietnam Vet, Father, Brother, Husband, Grandfather, Uncle and Friend to many including myself) We all miss you.crying.
    I am not sure what he loved most other than family. He was a helicopter pilot, an innovater of technology (author of many tutorial CD's) a great Wood worker, Farmer, loved music and played guitar.

I hope many of you enjoyed this, and yes, my Avatar really is me, a characture done in 1999 of me working on a comp.

This is For Ransom Southerland. May you live in our hearts forever.

Jim
    MK808 TapaTalk II

Re: Wireless Internet## A Tribute and Salute with some history

Heyy, i started with computers in those time too, starting to make programs in basic, in a Sinclair spectrum 48kb, after I got an Amstrad with 64kb, and when we got the powerful 286... Wow what far away...
    REMEMBER, YOUR FEEDBACK IS VERY IMPORTANT TO US.
    My devices:
    Minix Neo X7; Minix Neo X8-H , Minix Neo Z64W & Z64 (Sponsored by Minix)