Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

H96 PRO PLUS freezing up. Google Play Store not working

Hi Guys
    I’m a bit of a newbie with these TV boxes, so there may be something obvious here that I’m missing.
    I bought an Alfawise H96 PRO PLUS TV box a few months ago. After setting it up, it worked somewhat OK but was a bit buggy. On occasion it would suddenly go back to the main menu in the middle of a movie, or get all jammed up (frozen). After a while it refused to boot altogether.
    So after some advice in these forums, I installed the Superceleron Rom with the update. I can boot the box now, and its working somewhat. The problem is that it's still a bit buggy and it freezes here and there. I even installed a bigger heat-sink, but no difference. I think that the main reason for this is Google Play Store and Services. They don't work. I get messages popping up every minute or so that say "Google Play Store keeps stopping" or the same message with Google services. I deleted the cache and data hoping that it would help, but it didn't. I can't sign into Google or do anything else with it. Although I could be totally wrong, I think this is the reason it freezes all the time. Any ideas?

Hello, Just to rule it out, check power supply. A voltage test with a meter will not necessarily reveal a bad power supply. Some check OK voltage wise, but fail to deliver required current. If possible, substitute a suitable power supply. A suitable power supply will have the same Voltage, Amps will be equal or greater than original, TIP POLARITY must be identical to the original, tip needs to be the same physical dimensions.

Comment

Thank you for responding. I know a lot of people recommend getting a bigger power supply, but out of curiosity, if the power supply didn't deliver enough amps, wouldn't it overheat and burn out? Also, would that affect problems with Google Play Store?