Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Why do these things have such poor cooling?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Why do these things have such poor cooling?

Years back i got into overclocking, P4 dual core days, ive since kinda got out of that.

Recently ive been interested in these Android boxes because of my addiction to Asphalt 8, ever since i started playing ive bought a few tablets, a shield a few firesticks then just recently got a T95Q box

When i cracked i open i was shocked how little cooling it has.

I bought a little box of heatinks off amazon a few months back to tinker with a tablet that has *cought* jellybean on it but dang it can run A8 which shocked me

Anyway i used a little artic silver on all the chips in the T95Q and my benchmakrs went from 55561 stock with the cover on the top, to 69720! no fans or nothing just the heatsinks sitting ontop all the chips.

I put 4 little ones on the ram or rom chips, one on i think the gpu? then a larger one on the processor i was kinda shocked at the difference.

When i pulled the single sink off the main processor it was only stuck on with what looked like caulking, it was white dry rubbery and it was so thick i dont think it even transfered much heat threw the glue at all.

These things can perform WAY better if they only used better cooling.

The shield has a badass cooling setup and look at its performance

Originally posted by BowerR64 View Post
    Years back i got into overclocking, P4 dual core days, ive since kinda got out of that.

Recently ive been interested in these Android boxes because of my addiction to Asphalt 8, ever since i started playing ive bought a few tablets, a shield a few firesticks then just recently got a T95Q box

When i cracked i open i was shocked how little cooling it has.