Dr.Chads Mecool KM3 port to the Mecool KM9

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dr.Chads Mecool KM3 port to the Mecool KM9

Dr. Magendanz did it again, saved my Mecool KM9. I received my KM9 about 4 months ago, but it would NOT play Emby OR Plex clients, so it was useless for me. Yesterday, Dr. Magendanz, received his Mecool KM3 (essentially the same as the KM), and extracted the Android TV PIE OS, and created an image file for it. This file gave a whole new life to my KM9. These Mecool Amlogic are very easy to swap firmwares. Here is a video comparing it's capabilities to the Nvidia Shield.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hon8...ature=youtu.be
    Last edited by trebor; 04-28-2019, 22:39.
    MK818B, T428, ATV 1220, CS918S, TV01, S89H, R89, ADT-1, MK808B Plus, MINIX X8-H Plus, Tronsmart Orion R68

(Just for the record, I'm not a doctor....nor have I ever played one on TV. I've been a Lt. Magendanz and Rep. Magendanz, but Dr. Magendanz is my father.)

The Mecool firmware is generally pretty interchangeable as long as they're based on the same Amlogic reference boards...and these two are. While they technically report the KM9 and KM3 as u211 and u212, respectively, I haven't seen any substantive difference. The Android Pie version, however, does seem to have enabled Android Verified Boot (AVB 2.0), so don't be trying to install TWRP on it just yet.

Comment

Duly noted.
      MK818B, T428, ATV 1220, CS918S, TV01, S89H, R89, ADT-1, MK808B Plus, MINIX X8-H Plus, Tronsmart Orion R68

Comment

please could you indicate me what are the steps to install the km3 mecool firmware in km9 please

Comment

Guest commented
          Editing a comment